CERC — Environmental Software and Services

Staff

Management team

Chairman

Prof. Julian Hunt, FRS, FIMA, julian.hunt@ucl.ac.uk

Julian was a Professor of Fluid mechanics at University of Cambridge and more recently a Professor of Climate modeling and Honorary Professor of Mathematics at University College London. He was also Chief Executive of the UK Meteorological Office from 1992 to 1997. He is one of the founders of CERC and has been acting as Chairman since 2001.

His numerous research studies in the field of fluid dynamics have included such topics as turbulent and stratified flows, complex atmospheric flows and dispersion. These have been used for many practical applications (e.g. building design, wind energy generation, air pollution modelling).

Managing and technical director

David Carruthers, PhD, david.carruthers@cerc.co.uk

David received his PhD on Atmospheric Physics from University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology. He joined CERC in 1987 and became a director in 1997.

Throughout the development of ADMS models, David has led CERC in model development and validation and has been at the forefront of technical debate in the UK and internationally. In addition, he has participated in US EPA Modeling Conferences and has presented the ADMS models internationally for government approval. Other projects he has directed have included research projects for government departments including DEFRA (UK Department of Environment), the Department of Transport, and major international projects supported by the European Union.

Financial director

Tim Newton, MBA, MIMgt, ACA ATII, tim.newton@cerc.co.uk

Tim received his MBA from Cranfield School of Management Studies. He has overseen CERC's finance and accounting as well as being responsible for legal and contractual issues since the founding of the company.

Principal consultants

Tricia Gilmour, PhD, patricia.gilmour@cerc.co.uk

Tricia received her PhD of Geophysics from University of Cambridge and joined CERC in 1998. She is currently responsible for managing training, workshops and company I.T., and designs CERC's training courses and their corresponding training material. Tricia has also been involved in a number of consultancy projects using ADMS, ADMS-Urban and EMIT.

Jonathan Handley, PhD, jonathan.handley@cerc.co.uk

Jonathan received his PhD in Theoretical Physics from University of Nottingham and joined CERC in 1991. He has extensive programming experience, and works on programming aspects of CERC's products including quality control. He has been involved in the development of several bespoke dispersion models for customers, as well as being the main developer and technical liaison contact for CERC's dense gas dispersion model, GASTAR.

Mark Jackson, MSc, mark.jackson@cerc.co.uk

Mark received his Master's degree in Physics from Bristol University. He joined CERC in 1995. Mark has extensive experience of software development and works on CERC's own products, including the YourAir forecasting system, and also bespoke development, including leading the development of the CARBONES geoportal. Mark worked on the development of CERC's liquid spill model LSMS, and contributes to CERC's work for the ICAO Committee on Aviation Environmental Protection (ICAO CAEP).

Martin Seaton, PhD, martin.seaton@cerc.co.uk

Martin received his PhD in Applied Mathematics from University of Cambridge and has worked in CERC since 2006. Martin oversees the development of scientific model code and documentation for the ADMS suite of air dispersion models.  He has also been involved in the development of bespoke models and scientific modules for a variety of clients including government departments and industry sectors.

Amy Stidworthy, MSc, amy.stidworthy@cerc.co.uk

Amy received her Master's degree in Weather, Climate and Modelling from University of Reading. She joined CERC in 1999. Amy has extensive programming experience and works on the development of the ADMS models. Amy also works on projects financed by the European Union, for example, TOPFARM, where CERC developed a wind turbine wake model and PASODOBLE, where CERC are developing a toolkit to assist in the evaluation of local air quality forecast models.

Jenny Stocker, PhD, jenny.stocker@cerc.co.uk

Jenny received her PhD from University of Manchester in Applied Mathematics. She joined CERC in 2000. Jenny has been involved both in model development of CERCís leading air quality models, as well as working on a number of consultancy projects. Jenny has also given a number of presentations in conferences and has published scientific papers in leading journals on CERC projects.

Sarah Strickland, MSc, sarah.strickland@cerc.co.uk

Sarah received her Master's degree in Applied Meteorology from University of Reading. She joined CERC in 1997 and acts as CERC's Consultancy Manager. She manages CERC's consultancy projects for government and commercial organisations, including many with a focus on emission inventories and modelling using ADMS models, EMIT and GIS tools.



© CERC 2017. All rights reserved. Legal disclaimer.

This site uses cookies to store user preferences about visual presentation.

Display: [Normal] [High contrast] [Printer-friendly]